Early Works: Soul, Funk And Afro Rarities



Cat. Number: ATA019


In stock

ATA Records is pleased to announce the release of Early Works: Funk, Soul & Afro Rarities From The Archive, a compilation of tracks that were recorded at the very outset of the label and haven’t been available since the initial limited run (Released as Funk, Soul & Afro Rarities: An Introduction To ATA Records on Here and Now Recordings) sold out 5 years ago.

In stock

Category: Genres: , Styles: Formats: , Format Names: Decades: Labels: Sleeves Condition: Condition:

Product Description

Since 2013 label founders and musicians Neil Innes & Pete Williams have been tirelessly fulfilling their shared dream of making the records they weren’t hearing. Having spent years working in various bands both players felt the desire to break free of the constraints of working within another band and started on the slow path to creative autonomy by starting to work on the 12 tracks presented on this compilation.While deliberating their next steps they were approached by Here & Now records who licensed the 12 tracks and released them under the titleFunk, Soul & Afro Rarities: An Introduction To ATA Recordsin 2014 as a limited run of 300 copies that sold out within weeks of release.

Now in 2020, celebrating their 5th year of running successfully as a label in their own right, ATA are re-releasing these 12 tracks on a new vinyl pressing under the titleEarly Works: Funk, Soul & Afro Rarities From The Archivewith new artwork and liner notes that detail the labels birth.

The compilation features 12 tracks that include the very first 3 tracks from The Sorcerers that led to their self-titled debut LP & the first proper release on ATA, as well as the first recordings by The Mandatory Eight and The Yorkshire Film and Television Orchestra.

A1 – Cleveland Freckleton The Flip 2:57
A2 –The Sorcerers Cave Of Brahma 3:38
A3 –The Harmony Society Brother Move On 4:01
A4 –The Lamplighters London Station 3:06
A5 –The Sorcerers Elephant 3:55
A6 –Reverend Barrington Stanley Cookie Jar 5:02
B1 –The Sorcerers The Terror 3:55
B2 –Ivan von Engelberg's Asteroid Thought Forms 4:04
B3 –The Lamplighters Moscow Central 4:06
B4 –The Mandatory Eight Sucker Punch 3:20
B5 –The Yorkshire Film And Television Orchestra Hawkshaw Philly 3:26
B6 –The Cadets What We Are Made Of 3:46

WooCommerce Products Filter

show blocks helper


Go to Top